Golden Syrup Steamed Pudding fends off the winter chill

Saturday + mid Winter + freezing cold + family over for lunch = steamed pud with lashings of custard and cream.

On cold winter days I long for the comfort food of my childhood.  Mum used to regularly whip up a steamed pud – which we’d duly drown in custard, pile ice-cream on top (so we could watch it melt into the custard) and stuff down sitting in front of the open fire.  Mmmm

With the troops arriving for lunch today I decided it was the perfect excuse to indulge in a childhood memory … and it also gave me the opportunity to try out another recipe from Harry Eastwood’s book.  The Steamed Golden Syrup Sponge Pudding (p 52) felt ‘just right’.

I’m thinking I’ll make some changes to it next time.  It wasn’t as sponge-light as I’d imagined (but – it IS a steamed pudding and they’re never as light as a baked sponge), and it wasn’t sweet enough for me (but my daughter told me I was mentally comparing it to my golden syrup dumplings which are VERY sweet).  That said – it was warm, golden-syrupy and quite delish.

Serves 8 – 12 (depending on how greedy you feel at the time)

Note: … about pudding basins and saucepans
… I used my mum’s metal basin with a lid … it has a more cake-like shape than the standard ceramic basins.  All I had to do was grease it. Here are instructions for preparing a ceramic bowl/basin.
… you need a BIG saucepan (stock pot size) – big enough to hold the pudding basin sitting on top of something in the bottom.
something …I’ve found that if the basin sits directly on the base of the saucepan the pudding can burn.  To solve this problem I put a small round wire cake rack in the bottom of the saucepan and sit the basin on top of that.  I’ve also known people to use an upturned saucer, a criss-cross of chopsticks, marbles … ??

250g golden syrup + 3 tablespoons for the base of the pudding
2 medium eggs
250g turnip – topped, tailed, peeled and finely grated (I use my fine Microplane grater)
grated zest 1 lemon
150g rice flour
50g ground almonds
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt

  1. Put a full kettle of water on to boil.
  2. Grease a 2 litre pudding basin.  Pour 3 tablespoons of golden syrup into the base of the basin and set aside.
  3. Beat the golden syrup and eggs for 4 minutes until bubbly.
  4. Add the grated turnip and lemon zest.  Whisk for another minute.
  5. Add the flour, ground almonds, baking powder and salt.  Whisk to combine.
  6. Pour into the prepared basin and seal top with your cover.
  7. Lower the basin into a large saucepan.
  8. Pour boiling water from the kettle into the pan round your pudding (avoiding the top) until the water level reaches at least ½ way up the basin.  Turn on the heat and bring to a rolling simmer (according to Harry it should be ‘slightly angry but not furious’) before placing the lid on the saucepan.
  9. Cook for 1 hour and 30 minutes.
    Note: Don’t forget to top up the water level in the pan.  The water shouldn’t fall below ½ way up the basin or it won’t cook evenly.
  10. Set aside for 20 minutes.
  11. Serve with Crème Anglaise … or custard … or cream … or ice-cream … or ALL of them!

A xo

Note: Many people who are Fructose Intolerant can’t eat golden syrup – you could try substituting maple syrup.  As I’ve said before, I can tolerate the ingredients listed.

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Desserts, Gluten Free, Low in fructans. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Golden Syrup Steamed Pudding fends off the winter chill

  1. Wayne Harridge says:

    I thought it was pretty good !

Leave a Reply

