Quinoa, Adzuki Bean, Soy Bean, Veg & Corn Tacos

Thursday night dinner at our place has taken on a new persona since Thursday has become my Nannadaycare day – and the family stay for dinner.  This means dinner has to be a) simple enough for a Nanna to get with a toddler attached to her leg, b) suitable for a pescetarian, dairy free, gluten free and low in fructose, and c) appealing to aforementioned toddler (and family … but mainly the toddler :-)).

This one was a winner – we all loved it (perhaps the adults more so that the toddler – but she had a go).

The original recipe was for Quinoa, Black Bean and Corn Tacos, and I’d also found a recipe for Veggie Tacos.  After much deliberation over which one I’d create, I decided to do a bit of a combo.  I don’t think I can eat Black Beans (if anyone can tell me if a Fructose Intolerant can eat them I’d love to know) so I substituted Adzuki and Soy beans (I’ve found I can eat these), and swapped Tacos for Tortillas (the supermarket only had wheat Tortillas).  So here’s my resulting recipe.

6-8 Servings

1½ cups cooked quinoa                             1 table olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced (I used the green tops of 3 spring onions)
3 cloves crushed garlic                               1¼ cups vegetable OR chicken stock
1 can chopped tomatoes                             2 zucchini – chopped
½ tea oregano
1 tea ground cumin                                     ½ tea smoked paprika
¼ tea ground coriander (I used about 2 table chopped fresh coriander stalks)
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1½ cups frozen corn (I used a large can of corn kernels)
1 can Adzuki beans                                     1 can soy beans
juice 1 lime
½ cup coriander leaves – roughly chopped

Serve with:
corn or wheat tortillas (I used corn taco shells)
chopped lettuce                                          sour cream (or Greek yoghurt)
grated cheddar cheese                              crumbled fetta cheese
sliced avocado                                             sliced tomato
jalapeño chilli
chilli sauce (we used my son’s amazing smoked chilli sauce – it’s amazing!)

  • Heat olive oil in a large, non-stick pan over a high heat.
  • Add spring onion and garlic and sauté 30 seconds.
  • Add zucchini and stir for a couple of minutes.
  • Add stock, diced tomatoes, cooked quinoa, oregano, cumin, paprika and coriander stems.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  • Bring mixture to boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer about 20 minutes.
  • Stir in corn and beans and simmer, uncovered 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Add lime juice and coriander leaves.
  • Serve warm over tortillas or tacos with desired toppings.

A xo

Note:  you don’t have to use onion if it makes you sick … and use any type of beans that you can eat.

This entry was posted in Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Low in fructans, Pasta, Rice & Grains, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

